An Alternative for the PURGE Command
In this tutorial, we'll purge a drawing using the PURGE
command and also learn a useful alternative command.
Since AutoCAD 13, the PURGE command can be used anywhere
Use the PURGE command by entering PURGE at the command
prompt. The following prompts are displayed:
Names to purge <*>:
Verify each name to be purged? <Y>
When the PURGE command has finished, a list starting with "No
unreferenced ..." is displayed. At the first prompt you need to
enter an option; if no option is entered then the PURGE command
terminates. If each name to be purged is verified then purging
takes a long time.
There is an alternative for the PURGE command - the WBLOCK
command. If a drawing is saved with the WBLOCK command then
everything that's not used in the drawing is deleted.
When the WBLOCK command is entered, the Create Drawing File
dialog box is displayed. You can then enter the name and the
folder of the drawing. After entering the name and the folder,
the following prompt is displayed:
At the prompt an asterisk is entered. The drawing is saved
and the WBLOCK command is terminated. The advantage of the
WBLOCK command? It's faster to use than the PURGE command.
About the Author
Jos van Doorn is an AutoCAD specialist and AutoLISP
He has published a series of
e-books on AutoCAD and AutoLISP topics, which are available for
downloading at his
He is also publisher of the free ACAD Newsletter. To subscribe,
visit the newsletter's